skip to main content
18-20 September 2015
New College Oxford


Committee 2012 committee photograph, Oxford Union; current committee listed below.

Members of the Joint Planning Law Conference Committee (please note the dates below represent the years served on the joint planning law conference committee).

For The Bar

Mr Michael Humphries QC Mr Michael Humphries QC

Mr Rupert Warren QC Mr Rupert Warren QC

Paul Brown QC Paul Brown QC

Mary Cook Mary Cook

For The Law Society

Mr Duncan Field Mr Duncan Field
(2006 -present)

Ms Claire Dutch Ms Claire Dutch

Mr Matthew Whte Mr Matthew Whte
(2013 - to present)

For The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors

Mr Rory Joyce Mr Rory Joyce

Mary Powers Mary Powers
(2012 - to present)

Mr Robert Evans Mr Robert Evans
(2013 - to present)

For The Royal Town Planning Institute

Mr Mike Hayes CBE Mr Mike Hayes CBE

Trudi Elliott CBE Trudi Elliott CBE

Adrian Penfold Adrian Penfold
(2012 - to present)

Administrative Staff

Mr Steven Durno Mr Steven Durno
The Law Society (1990 - present)

Ms Lucinda Howe Ms Lucinda Howe
Quadrilect Conferences and Training (1992 - present)

Former Committee Members

We would like to thank our former committee members for their services to the conference.

Former Bar representatives

Mr Keith Lindblom QC Mr Keith Lindblom QC

Mr Tim Corner QC Mr Tim Corner QC

Lionel Read QC Lionel Read QC

Bill Hicks QC Bill Hicks QC
(1989 - 2006)

Matthew Horton QC Matthew Horton QC


Jeremy Sullivan QC Jeremy Sullivan QC

Bernard Marder QC Bernard Marder QC

Iain Gildewell QC Iain Gildewell QC

Sir Patrick Neill QC Sir Patrick Neill QC

Michael FitzGerald OBE QC Michael FitzGerald OBE QC

Sir Frank Layfield QC Sir Frank Layfield QC

Peter Boydell QC Peter Boydell QC

Former RICS representatives

Mr Andrew Warner Mr Andrew Warner

Miss Sarah Stevens Miss Sarah Stevens

Mr Paul Shelley Mr Paul Shelley
(1998 - 2006)

Gordon Chard Gordon Chard

Jeremy Bayliss Jeremy Bayliss

Christopher Howes Christopher Howes

Rex Mercer Rex Mercer

John Trustman Eve John Trustman Eve

John Walshe John Walshe

Adrian Eve Adrian Eve

Dr Tom Hoyes Dr Tom Hoyes

Christopher Jonas Christopher Jonas

W G Nulty W G Nulty

Frank Knowles Frank Knowles

Gordon Hyde Gordon Hyde

Miss Yvonne Hanly Miss Yvonne Hanly

Former Law Society representatives

Mr Paul Winter Mr Paul Winter

David Hawkins David Hawkins
(1997 - 2006)

Pat Thomas OBE Pat Thomas OBE

Philip Williams Philip Williams

Tony Ward Tony Ward

Tony Edwards Tony Edwards

Alan Mundy Alan Mundy

David George David George

Garry Hart Garry Hart

Sir Desmond Heap Sir Desmond Heap

Roger Suddards Roger Suddards
(1973-1980 and 1989-1990)

Former RTPI representatives

Mr Kelvin MacDonald Mr Kelvin MacDonald

Hilary Herbert Hilary Herbert

Leonora Rozee OBE Leonora Rozee OBE
(2009 - 2012)

Chairman Of The Joint Planning Law Conference Committee

2015 Mary Cook
2014 Mike Hayes CBE
2013 Claire Dutch
2012 Sarah Stevens
2012 Andrew Warner
2011 Rupert Warren
2010 Kelvin MacDonald
2009 Duncan Field
2008 Rory Joyce
2007 Michael Humphries
2006 Pat Thomas
2005 Andrew Warner
2004 Keith Lindblom
2003 Paul Winter
2002 Paul Shelley
2001 Bill Hicks
2000 David Hawkins
1999 Rory Joyce
1998 Pat Thomas
1997 Andrew Warner
1996 Tony Ward
1995 Jeremy Bayliss
1994 Pat Thomas
1993 Gordon Chard
1992 Garry Hart
1991 Rex Mercer
1990 Roger Suddards
1989 John Trustram Eve
1988 Tony Ward
1987 John Walshe
1986 Garry Hart
1985 Tony Edwards
1984 Garry Hart
1983 W G Nutley
1982 Alan Mundy
1981 David George
1980 Gordon Hyde
1979 Tom Hoyes
1978 Garry Hart
1977 W G Nutley
1976 Roger Suddards
1975 Mr Swaffield
1974 W G Nutley
1973 Sir Frank Layfield


We have tried to be as accurate as we can with the above information. However if you are aware of any inaccuracies or can provide any further information or photographs Email:


08 January 2015

Congratulations to Steve Quartermain, DCLG on being awarded a CBE and John Rhodes, founding partner of planning consultancy Quod, who received an OBE in the New Year Honours, both who have spoken at...


07 January 2015

Ian Dove QC (past speaker), Andrew Gilbart QC (past speaker) and David Holgate QC have all been appointed as High Court Queen's Bench Division Judges in 2014. Many congratulations to them all.


Relevant, interesting and challenging in equal measure, the conference combines high quality, topical content with a welcoming, friendly and highly sociable atmosphere.

Executive Director, Argent Group plc

The Oxford Planning Conference is an excellent opportunity to keep up, both with the new developments and thinking in a rapidly changing world and also with old friends and colleagues. It is a winning combination of education and sociability which I always make it a point to try not to miss.

Barrister, No 5 Chambers

Download Brochure

Book early to avoid any disappointment

Download the 2014 brochure and book your place online for this years event (booking available Easter).

Contact us